The B-Select Committee is please to announce that the following coaches have been selected to head up our B-Select teams for the 2019 year:

10U Mark Koenig
Mark comes to the B-Select program with 4 years of head coaching in softball and 2 years of head coaching in baseball. Before coming to Northwest Girls Softball, he coached in Summerlin South little league. Mark also has 4 years collegiate experience playing first base/pitcher in Louisburg College and Barton College. Welcome, Mark!

12U Daron Matsumura
Daron is new to NWGS but comes to the B-Select program with a lot of coaching experience. Daron has experience coaching high school baseball, Little League, high school softball, and travel ball. Most recently, he has been the head coach for the 12u, and 16u/18u Blast, as well as the assistant coach at Bishop Gorman for girls’ varsity softball. Daron is excited to share his passion for the game with NWGS and help our girls develop their skills at the B-Select level. Bladi Coreas will be also be joining the coaching staff with a critical role in developing our 12U team. We are looking forward to a fantastic 12U season!

Tryouts for the B-Select teams will by January 7th and 8th at Majestic fields 2 & 3, check-in at 5:30pm, try-outs will begin promptly at 6:00pm.

There will be two seasons of B-Select play:
Spring Season: January through the beginning of August
Fall Season: August through December

Costs will be $200 for Spring, with an additional $300 for the All-Star summer season, and $200 for fall. Fees will cover field use, lights, insurance, uniforms and 2-3 tournaments. Girls who sign up will be required to complete that season prior to receiving any releases, and no refunds will be given after the initial payment has been received.

Our first season of B-Select with the 10s and 12s has been very successful, with lots of great tournament play! B-select players must be rostered to a regular league team and will participate in additional practices and tournament play before, during and after the regular season. For more information on the B-Select program, please visit our B-Select page, or email the B-Select Committee at

Mindy Johnson; Select Committee Chair